Role-emerging placement update.

Today was my last day on role-emerging placement. I have got to admit, it was the placement that I had been dreading the most. Now I’m out the other side I can definitely say that it has been worthwhile. I feel that the role-emerging placement certainly developed my professional reasoning and autonomy. For the first time, I can actually see myself being an OT.

I can’t wait to tell you all about it! There were certainly some moments that will stay in the memory which I will definitely have to blog about at a later date. A highlight was visiting the largest sensory room in the UK, managed by an OT and then developing a proposal for a sensory room at the residential unit. I was genuinely moved by the gratitude one resident showed my placement buddy and I for the time we spent with him.

But I’m afraid all of this will have to wait, dear reader!  I have final year assessments that have to be submitted for early January (That gives me 3 weeks) so have put myself under self-imposed house arrest while I complete them. The panic has set in.

So have a lovely festive period, wherever you are and I’ll see you in 2014 for some more OT waffle.Image

Leave a Reply

